Menu Search
N.W.A. “100 Miles and Runnin'” EP (1990)

“First come, first serve, whoever's got the nerve - step up and get what you deserve”

N.W.A. “100 Miles and Runnin'” EP (1990)



100 Miles And Runnin'


Just Don't Bite It


Sa Prize (Part 2)


Real Niggaz



Show all

An EP release by N.W.A. Release date: August 14, 1990.

100 Miles and Runnin’ is the only EP by N.W.A, released on August 14, 1990 on Ruthless Records. It is the first record the group released after Ice Cube began a solo career, and it contains a number of negative references to him. Reviews were positive, and by September 1992, it had reached platinum status.

Prior to recording the EP, all five of the group members had signed a long-term contract with the Ruthless Records label. However, member and lead vocalist Ice Cube refused the contract’s terms and consequently separated himself from the group, which kicked off his solo career.

The title track “100 Miles and Runnin'” was the group’s first track to gain radio airtime and appear on TV with its music video. Dr. Dre, who had just finished working with The D.O.C. and Above the Law, added atypical funky beats and the slow synth groove on “Just Don’t Bite It”. “Sa Prize, Pt. 2” is a sequel to the controversial “F*** tha Police” from the Straight Outta Compton album.

The group makes a number of references to Ice Cube. On the title track, Dre states: “It started with five but yo, one couldn’t take it / So now there’s four ’cause the fifth couldn’t make it”. In “Real N*****” he is likened to Benedict Arnold, the proverbial American traitor, and MC Ren says, “Only reason n***** pick up your record is cause they thought it was us”, referring to Ice Cube’s first solo album AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted, which had been released earlier that year. Ice Cube responded to these attacks on Death Certificate (1991) on a song named “No Vaseline”.

Three songs from the EP, “100 Miles and Runnin'”, “Just Don’t Bite It”, and “Real N*****”, were later released on N.W.A’s Greatest Hits. “Real N*****” also appears on N.W.A’s final studio album, Efil4zaggin, a year later; the 2003 remastered edition of the album appended the rest of the EP to the track listing.

Scroll to top